If you drive a car or truck and are injured in a motor vehicle accident in florida, you should know about the pit-falls that you might face. To begin with, in order to be entitled to receive full medical coverage you must seek treatment within 14 days of the accident.
Caution: Florida is one of the few states that does not require anyone to purchase auto insurance that covers them for negligently caused injuries to others. If you are injured in a motor vehicle accident caused by an uninsured driver, you may risk losing your job, and your house; but read on, there is a way that you can protect yourself.
Every motor vehicle with four or more wheels registered in florida must have no-fault insurance i.e. “Personal Injury Protection” (PIP). It’s called “no-fault” insurance because your insurance company pays for your medical bills even if the other driver is at fault. In other words, you cannot sue the at-fault party for medical bills that were paid by your insurance company. Florida’s standard PIP coverage is $10,000 and up to $10,000 property damage liability. PIP will pay for your medical bills and the medical bills of certain other people who drive your car, or are passengers in your car, and pedestrians who may be injured and who qualify for the coverage.
If you are injured by an uninsured driver hopefully you have Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage. UM coverage is a bargain and will compensate you for injuries suffered when the other driver is at fault and does not have liability coverage or has less coverage than your UM limits. Furthermore, if your injury is so serious that you need to use your health insurance to pay for accident related treatment, the health insurance company will have a lien on the amount you recover from the negligent party; however, amounts paid by your health insurance company are included in what you are entitled to from the negligent party.
What kind of medical treatment should you expect if you are involved in a motor vehicle accident in florida? You are paying for part of the medical bill, and you will only want to pay for treatment that is reasonable, necessary, and related to the accident. No-fault laws are intended to provide prompt payment to medical providers (within 30 days). If you receive treatment that you don’t need, the medical provider is the only one benefiting. On the other hand, insurance companies may cut off your medical treatment too soon. Many times, attorneys can perform a great service to their clients by assuring that they receive all the reasonable and necessary medical treatment related to the accident.